Is Drinking And Driving In Texas LegalThe Webb Firm, P.C. - True or False
- July 10, 2015
- DWI, True or False
- Posted by The Webb Firm
- Comments Off on Is Drinking And Driving In Texas Legal
Is Drinking And Driving Legal In Texas?
For adults over the age of 21, the charges for the 1st DWI offense are as follows: Up to a $2,000 fine, jail time between 3 days and 180 days, license suspension for up to 2 years, annual surcharge up to $2,000 for 3 years to keep your license, DWI intervention or education program, and possible ignition interlock device. A second DWI offense calls for a fine up to $4,000, one month to a year in jail, loss of driver license up to two years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license. And then if you continue this trend and get to a third offense the numbers reach mammoth proportions: a $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in prison, loss of driver license up to two years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license.
When it comes to DWI, don’t leave it to chance—take some simple precautions to help protect yourself from this happening to you. Don’t drink and drive, designate a driver, call a cab, and spend the night where you are, if possible. But if you do fall and get a DWI we are here and to help and it is best to start looking for an experienced DWI lawyer as soon as you can. The Webb Firm, P.C are skilled criminal defense attorneys in Conroe and can help you. Please call us at: 936-647-3352 or feel free to ask us a question using the form at the bottom of the page.