Parents should tell their children about DUI’sConroe DWI Lawyer
- August 3, 2015
- DWI, Underage Drinking
- Posted by The Webb Firm
- Comments Off on Parents should tell their children about DUI’s
Things parents should be sure to tell their children about Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
According to TexasDMV.org, drivers under 21 account for less than 10% of licensed drivers, but they account for 14% of DUI related fatalities in Texas. Because underage drinkers cause a disproportionate number of alcohol-related auto fatalities, the standards are stricter and the penalties may be harsher for those under 21. Texas is a zero-tolerance state, thus if a minor is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) above anymore than 00.00%, the driver can be cited for driving under the influence.
Parents should be aware, and should inform their children that only drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with a DUI, a Class C offense. The penalty for a Class C is up to a $500 fine and an alcohol awareness class along with other DUI classes. What most parents don’t know is that DUI’s can be used later in life to increase the penalty. For example, if your child gets a DUI as a minor, and then say in 30 years they get a DWI, the court can use your DUI from 30 years ago to increase the penalty on this DWI and turn it into a Class A.
A DUI is very hard to expunge from your record and can complicate your child’s life. If you do fall and your child gets a DUI we are here to help and it is best to start looking for an experienced DWI/DUI lawyer as soon as you can. The Webb Firm, P.C are skilled criminal defense attorneys in Conroe and can help you. Please call us at: 936-647-3352 or feel free to ask us a question using the form at the bottom of the page.